Stellar Joins The 30 Day Squat Challenge

Yup! For the next 30 days I will be gettin’ it in with my health & exercise.  I’m tired of looking like a Frump.  My once cute and heart shaped booty has headed south and I will be getting her back.  Its never too late to get in shape.

The other day on Instagram, I found out about this great 30 Day Squat challenge from my blogger friend Alisha, over at Coily Locks.  Alisha’s goal is to get in shape for a friend’s destination wedding in August.  My goals are to whip this body of mine into shape, get my gutt & butt in gear and start taking better care of myself.  You know we only get one body, and I’m determined to start taking better care of mine inside & out.

So basically the squat challenge is done by following a chart that lists out the days and number of squats you’re supposed to do for that day. There are some rest days thrown in there about every 3 days or so, so you do get some relief during this, but make no mistake you will feel the burn.

So here’s the actual chart I’m using:

fitness, squat, challenge, 30 day, butt, thighs

Note: There are a LOT of these charts out there so you don’t have to start with 50 like I did, you can opt for one with fewer/more.

Now, is my body gonna look like this chick after 30 days?  NOT!!! But hopefully I will see an improvement in my specific body shape.  I need toning all over but I’m hoping for a more lifted and firmer butt, stronger thighs & less cottage cheese that’s all I’m asking. Oh and my gutt has got to go.  I had my son almost 5 years ago, so there’s no excuse for this mess!

butt, squat, challenge, exercise, fitness, goal, shape, thighs, 30 days

I’ve got some serious work to do…But day #1 is done!

Today is my Day #1

My legs…ARE ON FIRE!!  After doing about 30 of them, I had to stop and take a serious stretch break, walk around the house, quick sits on my bed…anything to get my leg muscles moving.   I was scared I was gonna cramp up.  I can’t believe how freakin’ out of shape I am. It’s really embarrassing.  So then I started back on the squats and got in another 10.   After that I basically said Yup I did 50! because it took me about 10 squats to get the photos for this post :D anyway which I’m not showing because I was doing them wrong in the photos 50503_291673647080_2739333_nBut I’m throwing those in my total too.

Here’s the video I’m using as my point of reference for proper positioning:

On top of doing the squats, I’m also trying to incorporate these few things into my week.

Drinking More Water- I load up on those Smart Water bottles each week. Makes me feel good to empty those things.

Brisk Walking- I joined a walking group on Meetup. It’s supposed to meet every Thursday evening, lets see if I even show up for the first one LOL!  Knowing me, I’ll come up with some lame excuse as to why I couldn’t go.

More Fruits & Veggies- I don’t care nothing about the stereotypes about Black people eating watermelon.  I love the stuff and can’t get enough of it! I’ve been eating a ton of watermelon, mango, strawberries, applesauce & grapes.  I also have been incorporating fresh veggies into my diet. I’ll do a post about my tasty Veggie Quesadillas shortly so stay tuned for that.

I’ll keep you updated on my progress as I go through this.  If you want to join in, please leave me a comment after you begin so we can motivate each other in the process.  I hope to see some of you participating and whipping those bodies into shape. Don’t be a lazy A$$ like me and sit around until things gravitate south, show those glutes and thighs who’s boss!  Tell ‘em  I Run This!!

until next time Stars.  Stellar Out!

Not already following my blog? Shame, Shame.  Just click that little +Follow pop up in your lower right hand corner (on WordPress). All others please click Subscribe in the Right Side Bar ——————>

 

12 thoughts on “Stellar Joins The 30 Day Squat Challenge

  1. Girl forget what people think – watermelon is good for you and fills you up. I too will begin my fresh fruit/veggie regiment tomorrow, but now having a glass (or two) of wine and some chips! Good luck!

    • Then I go to the store and buy a bag of Cheetos…SMH but I’m gonna stay on this each day though. My first time doing any kind of fitness challenge…or actual fitness period, in a very loooooong time :D

  2. Awesome job even thinking about this. . I heard about the challenge from a customer at my work searched and found your blog. . I’m doing my first real diet in my adult life. . I’ve lost my first 10 of my 30 lb goal but I know to do it I’m gonna have to shake things up a bit. . Going to start my squatting today! Good luck!

    • Hi Kyleigh,

      I’m the poster child & author of The Lazy Woman’s Guide to Exercise (no not really) but I’m in the same boat. For the first time in my life I HAVE to exercise. my metabolism just laughs at me now. It’s not a choice anymore :D The squat challenge really is great if you stick with it. I’m sure you will do Awesomely!! Thanks for stopping by and keep me posted on your progress with the challenge & the weight loss. I have a really great book review coming up for the Fast Metabolism Diet. It’s more of a lifestyle change vs. a diet and I’m going to try it. My first diet in my adult life too.

  3. So day 2 . . Think I may need to break them up a bit lol is there a challenge rule against doing 20 at a time a few times a day?

    • Nope! LOL!! I break mine down on any day where my legs can’t take it. Like today I did 80 in the morning and I’ll do 30 before bed for 110 (I’m on day #11). You can do it however you like. It’s probably better that way anyway so you don’t get discouraged. Just jot down how many you do each time and total them up at the end of the night. I’m proud of you!! Do ya thang Kyleigh!

  4. SOLD! Let me get these squats together. I turn 30 in a few months and my sexy needs to stay in tact and uplifted…lol! Thanks for sharing. Spotted your post on Twitter.

    • LOL!! Glad I could convince you! I plan on going forward with another challenge before this one end, for my upper body too. I’m on day 15 now, so I still have more to go. Keep me posted on your progress. And do yourself a favor…take a candid before pic (even if you don’t wanna share it publicly) it’ll really encourage you when you see your progress.

  5. I’m starting this today, heard about it from one of the other mums in the school yard, I looked for a good chart and found yours. You sound very motivated Stella, good luck to you. I also found another chart to incorporate planks in to the workout, which will help with your core muscles, can we post pictures onto your blog? If so, I’ll see if I can work out how to paste it.

    • Hey thanks for stopping by. If it’s something you want to send a link to that’s fine. You can just create a comment with your link like I did in my comment to another reader above.

Leave a Reply

